The Kindness of Strangers

A couple of years ago I discovered freecycle. I’ve always been a fan of re-using and recycling, and freecycle is the Internet embodiment of that. The freecycle motto is “Changing the world one gift at a time” which really appeals to me. One girl’s trash is another’s treasure and all that. I’ve been amazed by the grateful thanks with which some of my gifts have been received (particularly Small’s old toddler bed, about which I had several emails of thanks!) and even more so the generosity of people I’ve received gifts from. 

The latest came from a fortuitiously timed lunchtime browse of the site.  I saw a recently posted advert for a box of embroidery threads located fairly close to my work so I sent a little (politely worded as always!) message in response and waited…. Within the hour there was a reply.  The box was still available if I’d like to drop in on my way home. 

I was expecting something the size of a shoe box, so when the man came to his door with a cubic metre box stuffed full of all sorts of different types of thread I was pretty taken aback! They had belonged to his mother who had passed away and he just wanted them to go to a good home where they would be used.  I was more than happy to oblige! It was an amazingly unexpectedly generous gift so I feel a sense of obligation to carry on what this lady started and give her threads the good home I promised.

Haul

  • Total cost £0, cost new is tricky to calculate but must run into £hundreds!
Leave a Reply

